The Board of Directors at Bethany Community Ministries contributes to high-level strategic planning and systems of accountability at the organization, while offering their professional expertise to strengthen organizational processes and programming. Critically, the board acts as stewards for our mission, vision, and values.

We appreciate each and every member of our Board of Directors for the leadership, oversight, and inspiration they offer to Bethany Community Ministries.

Board Leadership

Floyd Cephas, Jr.

Board Chair

Floyd Cephas is the Director of FAME Academy, and has been a dedicated member of the board at BCM since 2020.

Alice Williams

Vice Chair

Alice Williams is the Executive Director of Women Empowered for Entrepreneurial Excellence, and serves as board vice chair.

Richard Witherspoon


Richard Witherspoon is the CEO of Hill District Federal Credit Union, and serves as treasurer of the board.

Linda Kephart


After volunteering with SYP, Linda Kephart joined the board in October 2019 and serves as the current board secretary

Board Members

JoAnn Adams is a former Human Resource Executive. She left her corporate position in 2017, stepping out on faith to follow God’s plan for her life. She moved from Buffalo, NY to Pittsburgh to be closer to her loved ones. During the early ’80’s JoAnn lived in Pittsburgh where she was a resident of Homewood-Brushton.

JoAnn holds a Bachelor Degree from Bowdoin College (Brunswick, ME) and a Masters degree from Duquesne University.

Russell retired from PPG industries, Inc. in 2009 after 40 years. From 1969 to 1995, Russell held various research positions at PPG’s Coatings and Resins Research Center. In 1995, Russell was promoted to Director, Energy Purchasing and moved to Corporate Headquarters in Downtown Pittsburgh. The last position Russell held was Director, Supply Quality Assurance & Supplier Development.

Presently, Russell is married to his wife Catherine. They have 6 sons, 16 grandchildren and live in Gibsonia, PA. Russell is a Deacon and Stewardship Campaign Chairperson at Bethany Baptist Church.

In addition, Russell teaches the following courses at the Pittsburgh Layman Bible Institute: (1) Old Testament Survey, (2) New Testament Survey and (3) Christian Doctrine.

Dr. William R. Glaze has been the Pastor of Bethany Baptist Church in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania since July 1990. He is affectionately known, hosts “Anchored in Jesus,” a daily radio broadcast.

He is the Founder and Dean of the Pittsburgh Laymen’s Bible Institute – offering certification in Biblical Counseling and other Bible-based certificates. n 2010, he was recognized by the Center for Urban Biblical Ministry as an Urban Hero for his work in the inner city of Pittsburgh and in 2012 he was the recipient of the Circle of Courage Award in Religion.

In 2013 he was honored by Scripture Union USA for Bible promotion in the Pittsburgh area. In 2017 he was an honoree of the Men of Excellence Award by the New Pittsburgh Courier. He was presented with the Spirit of Excellence Award in Community Service by the Homewood Concerned Citizens Council (2017).

The Council of the City of Pittsburgh declared June 26, 2015 to be “Reverend Dr. William R. Glaze Day” in the City of Pittsburgh.

He is the author of 11 books. Dr. William R. Glaze has used his gifts to serve the Lord in preaching, teaching, revivals, seminars, retreats, and conferences throughout the United States and Africa. He and his wife, Angie, married in February 1977 and have four adult children: Nicole, Daniel, Jonathan, Rachel; and seven grandchildren. Pastor Glaze and John have worked together for 25 years and will discuss the past, present, and future on today's show.

Dr. Jerome Gloster is currently the CEO/CMO for Primary Care Health Services (PCHS) and is a Pediatrician with 25 years’ experience in clinical medicine, all of which have been with Federally Qualified Community Health Centers.

He accepted the position of CEO/CMO in November of 2018 for PCHS, a Federally Qualified Health Center Corporation of ten clinical health center offices throughout the greater Pittsburgh area with its headquarters located at the Alma Illery Medical Center in the Homewood neighborhood of the city of Pittsburgh.

He has become known for his passion for providing the highest quality Health Care and services to the under-served and those who need it the most.

[Bio coming soon.]
[Bio coming soon.]
Esohe Osai, Ph.D. is an educator, collaborator, and scholar-practitioner who has served in urban communities for almost 20 years.

She is co-founder of The Good Neighbor Collective and a professor at the University of Pittsburgh. After graduating from the Detroit Public School system, she continued through school, eventually earning a Ph.D. in education and psychology from the University of Michigan.

At her core, Esohe is a teacher and an advocate for children, youth, and communities. She taught high school in Detroit before beginning a career teaching at the college level. Beyond her role as an Assistant Professor in the University of Pittsburgh School of Education, Esohe is actively engaged in service efforts through various non-profits in her community. Esohe resides in the Homewood neighborhood of Pittsburgh, PA.

[Bio coming soon.]
Douglas Williams is a program coordinator, head cook, and case manager at the YMCA. He works with at-risk youth and ex-offenders, and performs food service.